Local Government

Daviess County government is a responsive synthesis of heritage and innovation, blending the historic township model with modern and progressive city and county government.

The history of Indiana’s township system dates all the way back to the time of Thomas Jefferson and the opening of the Northwest Territory. Recognized as an effective means of organizing rural areas, townships were codified in the Indiana constitution of 1852. Today, there are 10 townships in Daviess County, including the township of Washington, which is the Daviess County seat and is governed by a mayor and a seven-member city council. The county government consists of a county commission with members elected in staggered terms from three different districts. The commission administers funds as directed by the county council, which is composed of 7 members also elected in staggered terms. 

Career politicians are rare in Daviess County, a locale where elected officials are generally drawn from a wide range of community members and where new faces and new ideas are always encouraged to flourish. For example, one free program, the Leadership Daviess “Elected Leadership: Running for Public Office” informs the general public and interested candidates about:

  • Elected positions and the necessary qualifications for those positions.
  • Resources available for those interested in running or serving.
  • Ethical considerations in running for and serving in local offices.

In business, in education, and in government, Daviess County is always moving forward, guided by a stable heritage and a bedrock commitment to a stronger, brighter future.

US. Chamber logo. Click to visit their website Indiana Chamber logo. Click to visit their website

US. Chamber logo Indiana Chamber logo


As you navigate our website, you can use the “Add Item to Report” button to add any page or property to a custom report that you can print out or save.